Final ballot for Nebula Awards announced

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) have announced the final ballot for this year’s Nebula Awards, made up of the top vote-getters from the preliminary ballot, which is a list of all the stories that received at least 10 recommendations from active members of SFWA by the end of 2006.

The final ballot will be sent to all active members (including me for the first time–yay. The winners will be announced at the Nebula Awards weekend in New York City May 11-13.

And the final nominees are:


* From the Files of the Time Rangers by Richard Bowes (Golden Gryphon)
* The Girl in the Glass by Jeffrey Ford (Dark Alley)
* The Privilege of the Sword by Ellen Kushner (Bantam Spectra)
* To Crush the Moon by Wil McCarthy (Bantam Spectra)
* Seeker by Jack McDevitt (Ace)
* Farthing by Jo Walton (Tor)


* “Sanctuary” by Michael A. Burstein (Analog Science Fiction and Fact, September 2005)
* “Burn” by James Patrick Kelly (Tachyon Publications)
* “The Walls of the Universe” by Paul Melko (Asimov’s Science Fiction, April/May 2006)
* “Inclination” by William Shunn (Asimov’s, April/May 2006)


* “The Language of Moths” by Chris Barzak (Realms of Fantasy, April 2005)
* “Two Hearts” by Peter S. Beagle (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, October/November 2005)
* “Little Faces” by Vonda N. McIntyre (SciFiction, 23 February 2005)
* “Journey into the Kingdom” by M. Rickert (F&SF, May 2006)
* “Walpurgis Afternoon” by Delia Sherman (F&SF, December 2005)

Short Stories:

* “Helen Remembers the Stork Club” by Esther M. Friesner (F&SF, November 2005)
* “Pip and the Fairies” by Theodora Goss (Strange Horizons, 3 October 2005)
* “Echo” by Elizabeth Hand (F&SF, October/November 2005)
* “Henry James, This One’s For You” by Jack McDevitt (Subterranean #2, November 2005)
* “The Woman in Schrodinger’s Wave Equations” by Eugene Mirabelli (F&SF, August 2005)
* “An End To All Things” by Karina Sumner-Smith (Children of Magic, DAW)


* Howl’s Moving Castle by Hayao Miyazaki, Cindy Davis Hewitt, and Donald H. Hewitt (Studio Ghibli and Walt Disney Pictures; based on the novel by Diana Wynne Jones)
* “The Girl in the Fireplace” by Steven Moffat (Doctor Who, BBC/The Sci-Fi Channel, October 2006
* Batman Begins by Christopher Nolan and David S. Goyer (Warner Bros.)
* “Unfinished Business” by Michael Taylor (Battlestar Galactica, December 2006)

Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy (these stories are placed on the ballot by a jury):

* Devilish by Maureen Johnson (Penguin Razorbill)
* Magic or Madness by Justine Larbalestier (Penguin Razorbill)
* Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer (Harcourt)
* The King of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner (HarperCollins/Greenwillow Books)
* Midnighters #2: Touching Darkness by Scott Westerfeld (Eos)
* Peeps by Scott Westerfeld (Penguin Razorbill)

(Via SF Scope.)

Permanent link to this article:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Easy AdSense Pro by Unreal