Help fund illustrations for the Shapers of Worlds Volume IV anthology via Crowdfundr! CLICK HERE

My podcast, The Worldshapers, wins an Aurora Award!

Last Saturday, October 19, at the ceremony in Ottawa hosted by Can*Con, I was honored to receive this year’s Aurora Award for Bet Fan Related Work for my podcast, The Worldshapers.

The Prix Aurora Awards are Canada’s fan-nominated-and-voted-on awards for science fiction, fantasy, and related work, roughly the Canadian equivalent of the Hugo Awards.

The Best Fan Related Work category is for “Best fan activity in the area of Science Fiction or Fantasy…in areas such as: presentations, performances, fan music of all types, albums, song writing, video, APAS, Podcasts, or unpaid art by a Canadian in the previous calendar year.”

My fellow nominees were:

  • S.M. Beiko and Clare C. Marshall, Business BFFs (Podcast)
  • Kari Maaren, ChiSeries Toronto, monthly musical performances
  • Derek Newman-Stille, Speculating Canada
  • Joshua Pantalleresco, Just Joshing (Podcast)

I was thrilled to win and even happier because my editor and publisher from DAW Books, Sheila E. Gilbert, was in attendance–as she was the last time I won an Aurora, in 2009 for Marseguro, so I think she’s my good luck charm.That year I was totally unprepared and forgot to thank my wife and daughter, Margaret Anne and Alice, and she’s never let me forget that faux pas. This year, I thanked them first! And also, all the wonderful authors who have been willing to let me chat to them in-depth about the roots of their love for science fiction and fantasy and their process for creating it.

And the podcast continues! If you haven’t checked it out, I hope you will.

Here are the other award winners and nominees (from the Locus Magazinewebsite):

Best Novel

Best YA Novel

Best Short Fiction

Best Graphic Novel

Best Related Work

Best Poem/Song

  • WINNER: “Ursula Le Guin in the Underworld”, Sarah Tolmie (On Spec #107)

Best Artist

  • WINNER: Samantha M. Beiko, covers for Laksa Media
  • Lily Author, cover art for Polar Borealis #8
  • James F. Beveridge, cover art for Tyche Books
  • Roger Czerneda, cover for Tales from Plexis
  • Dan O’Driscoll, covers for Bundoran Press
  • Lynne Taylor Fahnestalk, cartoons for Amazing Stories

Best Visual Presentation

  • WINNER: Deadpool 2
  • Bao
  • Murdoch Mysteries, 2018 episodes
  • Travelers, Season 3
  • Wynonna Earp, Season 3

Best Fan Writing and Publications

Best Fan Organizational

  • WINNER: Derek Künsken & Marie Bilodeau, co-chairs, Can*Con
  • Sandra Kasturi, chair Chiaroscuro Reading Series: Toronto
  • Randy McCharles, chair, When Words Collide
  • Matt Moore, Marie Bilodeau & Nicole Lavigne, co-chairs, Chiaroscuro Reading Series: Ottawa
  • Sandra Wickham, chair, Creative Ink Festival

Permanent link to this article:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Easy AdSense Pro by Unreal