Help fund illustrations for the Shapers of Worlds Volume IV anthology via Crowdfundr! CLICK HERE

Aurora Award finalists announced

The finalists for this years Aurora Awards, Canada’s national awards for science fiction and fantasy, have been announced:

Best Long-Form Work in English
Meilleur livre en anglais

Regeneration : Species Imperative 3, Julie E. Czerneda (DAW Books)
Children of Chaos, Dave Duncan (Tor Books)
Smoke and Ashes, Tanya Huff (DAW Books)
Sun of Suns : Book One of Virga, Karl Schroeder (Tor Books)
Blindsight, Peter Watts (Tor Books)
Righteous Anger : Part Two of the Okal Rel Saga, Lynda Williams (EDGE Science Fiction and Fantasy Publishing)

Meilleur livre en français
Best Long-Form Work in French

Samuel de la chasse-galerie, Michel J. Lévesque (Médiaspaul)
Les îles du Zodiaque 3. Le maître des bourrasques, Laurent McAllister (Médiaspaul)
Reine de Mémoire 3. Le Dragon fou, Elisabeth Vonarburg (Alire)
Reine de Mémoire 4. La Princesse de Vengeance, Elisabeth Vonarburg (Alire)

Best Short-Form Work in English
Meilleure nouvelle en anglais

“All the Cool Monsters at Once”, James Alan Gardner (Mythspring, Red Deer Press)
“This Ink Feels Like Sorrow”, Karin Lowachee (Mythspring, Red Deer Press)
“Marked Men”, John Mierau (Slipstreams, DAW)
“Biding Time”, Robert J. Sawyer (Slipstreams, DAW)
“Lumen Essence”, Hayden Trenholm (Neo-opsis SF Magazine 9)

Meilleure nouvelle en français
Best Short-Form Work in French

«Le vol de l’abeille», Michèle Laframboise (Solaris 159)
«Stiletto», Julie Martel (Solaris 160)
«Le regard du trilobite», Mario Tessier (Solaris 159)

Best Work in English (Other)
Meilleur ouvrage en anglais (Autre)

The Hidden Path, Heather Dale ( [music cd]
Jousting with Jesters: An ABC for the Younger Dragon, Martin Springett (Orca Book Publishers) [children’s alphabet book]
Mythspring : From the Lyrics and Legends of Canada, Julie E. Czerneda and Genevieve Kierans, editors (Red Deer Press) [anthology]
Neo-opsis Science Fiction Magazine, Karl Johanson, editor ( [sf magazine]
Tesseracts Ten : A Celebration of New Canadian Speculative Fiction, Edo Van Belkom & Robert Charles Wilson, editors (EDGE Science Fiction and Fantasy Publishing) [anthology]

Meilleur ouvrage en français (Autre)
Best Work in French (Other)

La Décennie charnière, Claude Janelle (dir.) (Alire)
Solaris, réd. Joël Champetier (
Mario Tessier, Les Carnets du Futurible (Solaris 157-160)
«Aux origines des petits hommes verts», Jean-Louis Trudel (Solaris 160)

Artistic Achievement
Accomplissement artistique

Kenn Brown []
Lar deSouza [old: and new:]
Janet Hetherington
Jean-Pierre Normand []
Martin Springett []
Ronn Sutton []

Fan Achievement (Other)
Accomplissement fanique (autre)

Fractale-Framboise, Éric Gauthier, Christian Sauvé, Laurine Spehner (blogue/blog) []
Judith Hayman (filking)
Lloyd Penney (fan writing/écriture fanique)
Martin Springett (filking)
Larry Stewart (entertainer / personnalité: amuseur)
Peggi Warner-Lalonde (filking)

Finalists in the remaining two fan-related categories haven’t yet been posted.

Permanent link to this article:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Easy AdSense Pro by Unreal