Master of the World makes Sunburst Award longlist

I’m pleased to announce that Master of the World, Book 2 in my Worldshapers series from DAW Books, has been named to the longlist of the Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic.

Master of the World is on the list in the Young Adult Fiction category, the same category Worldshaper was longlisted in last year. This puzzles me somewhat, since both books were published as adult novels and neither has a teenaged character, but I’m still honoured.

The Sunburst is an annual award celebrating the best in Canadian “fantastika” published during the previous calendar year. Winners receive a medallion that incorporates the Sunburst logo. Winners of both the Adult and Young Adult Sunburst Award also receive a cash prize of $1,000, while winners of the Short Story Award receive a cash prize of $500. 

The Sunburst Award takes its name from the debut novel of the late Phyllis Gotlieb, one of the first published authors of contemporary Canadian Speculative Fiction.

The Sunburst official shortlist will be announced in July. Sunburst winners will be announced in September. 

Jurors for the 2020 Award are: Peter Darbyshire , Kristyn Dunnion, Omar El Akkad, Michelle Butler Hallett,  John Jantunen, Michael Johnstone, Ursula Pflug,  and Sarah Tolmie. 

Here’s the complete longist, with links to publishers, books, and stories (where possible): 




Permanent link to this article:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Easy AdSense Pro by Unreal