Marseguro is an Aurora Award finalist!

I’ve known for a while, so I’m thrilled to finally be able to formally announce that Marseguro is among the finalists for an Aurora Award in the category of Best Long-Form Work in English.

The Auroras recognize Canadian science fiction and fantasy artwork, writing, and fan activities. Nominated for and voted on by fans, they’re the Canadian equivalent of the Hugo Awards–or, to put it in movie terms, the Canadian science fiction and fantasy equivalent of, say, the People’s Choice Awards.

Also nominated in the Best Long-Form Work in English category are:

After the Fires, Ursula Pflug (Tightrope Books)
Identity Theft and Other Stories, Robert J. Sawyer (Red Deer Press)
Impossibilia, Douglas Smith (PS Publishing)
Defining Diana, Hayden Trenholm (Bundoran Press)

Next comes the voting process. Any Canadian citizen or resident may vote; there’s a $5.50 voting fee. Mail-in or online ballots must be submitted before Wednesday, July 15, 2009. For more information or to vote, you can go here.

If you read and liked Marseguro (or any of the other nominees), and are a Canadian or live in Canada, please consider voting! The more votes, the better.

The awards will be presented at Canvention, the Canadian national science fiction convention, which this year is taking place in conjunction with the 67th World Science Fiction Convention, Anticipation, being held in Montréal from August 6 to 10.

Here’s the complete list of nominees in the other categories:

Meilleur livre en français/Best Long-Form Work in French

Une fêlure au flanc du monde, Éric Gauthier (Alire)
Les vents de Tammerlan, Michèle Laframboise (Éditions Médiaspaul, coll. Jeunesse-Plus)

Best Short-Form Work in English/Meilleure nouvelle en anglais

“All In,” Peter Atwood (May–June, Weird Tales magazine)
“Back,” Susan J. Forest (June, Analog magazine)
“Ringing in the Changes in Okotoks, Alberta,” Randy McCharles (Tesseracts Twelve, Edge Science Fiction)
“A Bouquet of Flowers in a Vase by Van Gogh,” Douglas Smith (Impossibilia, PS Publishing)
“Doorways,” Douglas Smith (Postscripts Magazine #17, PS Publishing)

Meilleure nouvelle en français/Best Short-Form Work in French

« Ballade sur Pallide », Michèle Laframboise (Virages 44)
« La révolte des gilets-malins », Michèle Laframboise (QUAD9 6A)
« Le Dôme de Saint-Macaire », (Solaris 167)
« Jos Montferrand et le Grand Brigand des routes », Alain Ducharme (Solaris 161)

Best Work in English (Other)/Meilleur ouvrage en anglais (Autre)

The Gaslight Grimoire, Jeff Campbell & Charles Prepolec, Editors, (Edge Science Fiction)
Neo-opsis magazine, Karl Johanson, Ed.
Tesseracts Twelve, Claude Lalumière, Ed. (Edge Science Fiction)
Through the Window: a Journey to the Borderlands of Faerie, Marcie Lynn Tentchoff (Double Edge Publishing)
On Spec magazine, Diane Walton, Managing Ed.

Meilleur ouvrage en français (Autre)/Best Work in French (Other)

Jean-Louis Trudel, Sophie Beaulé, (Éditions David)
Solaris, Joël Champetier, édition et direction littéraire

Artistic Achievement/Accomplissement artistique

Looking for Group, Lar deSouza (Online Comic)
cover Neo-Opsis #14, Stephanie Ann Johanson
Imagination, Michèle Laframboise (Imagination contre les pigeons spammers, Vermillion)
Fear Agent #22, Ronn Sutton (Dark Horse)
cover JEMMA7729, David Willicome

Fan Achievement (Fanzine)/Accomplissement fanique (Fanzine)

The Original Universe, Jeff Boman, (Ed.)
Opuntia, Dale Spiers (Ed.)
Clair/Obscur, François-Bernard Tremblay, (Réd.)
Brins d’éternité, Guillaume Voisine, (Réd.)

Fan Achievement (Organizational)/Accomplissement fanique (Organisation)

Robyn Herrington Memorial Short Story Contest, Renée Bennett (Administrator)
World Fantasy 2008, Kim Greyson (Guest Liaison)
FilKONtario 19, Judith Hayman, & Peggi Warner-Lalonde (Co-chairs)
World Fantasy 2008, Randy McCharles, (Chair)
Anime North 2008, David Simmons (Organizer)

Fan Achievement (Other)/Accomplissement fanique (autre)

World Fantasy 2008 Podcasts, Kurt Armbruster, & Ryah Deines (Producers/Ed./Hosts)
Impulse, news bulletin of MonSFFA, Keith Braithwaite (Ed.)
Through the Keyhole – 25 years of Keycon Memories, Jennifer Ennis (Ed.)
Fan Writing, Lloyd Penney
Heather Dale Concert, Joan Sherman (Organizer)

Permanent link to this article:


    • Grace Seybold on March 20, 2009 at 5:52 pm
    • Reply

    That’s great news – congratulations! I definitely plan to vote for you.

    • Ian H. on March 18, 2009 at 4:42 am
    • Reply

    Hey, congrats! Up against Rob Sawyer – that’s tough competition. I read both of your books (collection in Sawyer’s case), and I would have a hard time picking a winner.

    Good luck!

    • Sharon E on March 17, 2009 at 6:29 pm
    • Reply

    Congratulations here!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.